Amidst the outbreak of COVID-19 we will be offering telephone conferences in place of face to face consultations and meetings if our clients so choose. The health and safety of our clients, potential clients, and staff is a top priority. If you would like a video conference or a FaceTime call, let us know and we will set it up.

The Length Of An Arkansas Divorce

One of the most valuable aspects of this question is not the answer. Only an attorney who understands you and the circumstances regarding your divorce can give you an idea of how long it will take. This is because there are too many variables involved during the process. Many of which may be outside of your control. 

This question is important because you must understand the factors that go into a divorce to arrive at a general conclusion. Furthermore, you will have to know the laws of your state.

Covenant & Non-Covenant Marriages

There are only three states that allow covenant marriages: Arkansas, Louisiana, and Arizona. This is important because a covenant marriage will directly impact the amount of time it takes you to get divorced. 

Most people are in non-covenant marriages. Couples who agree to enter into this type of marriage undergo counseling and other prerequisites before officially getting married. And they also agree to stricter rules regarding divorce. For example, they must live apart for two years before being fully divorced. 

Other couples only have a three-month waiting period. That can be waived if they have lived apart for a year. 

Waiting Period 

Before getting officially divorced, you and your spouse must reach an agreement regarding several issues:

  • Division of property and assets
  • Alimony 
  • Child custody and support

It isn’t uncommon for couples to take opposite stances on some or all of these. Does this mean you are in for a long, drawn-out court battle? Not necessarily. There are several steps you and your attorneys can take to work towards a resolution. However, they do take time—which can add to the length of your divorce process. 

When your attorney files the divorce petition, the state then has a mandated 30-day waiting period before the divorce decree gets issued.

Requirements

It is also important to note that Arkansas has a residency requirement that you or your spouse must meet before filing for divorce. Either you or your spouse must have lived in the state of Arkansas for 60 days. 

OMG Law Firm 

OMG Law is one of the most sought-after family law firms in the state because of how passionate we are about helping our clients. As difficult as divorce may be, take comfort in knowing that you will not do it alone. OMG Law will be there to assist and advise you through this process. Contact us to schedule your consultation.

The following two tabs change content below.

OMG Law Firm

At the OMG Law Firm, we take pride in our client-focused approach — the people who walk through our doors are more than just clients to us. They are families going through difficult changes, business owners in search of more room to grow, and injured workers looking to plan out the next stages of their lives.

Latest posts by OMG Law Firm (see all)

%d bloggers like this: