Amidst the outbreak of COVID-19 we will be offering telephone conferences in place of face to face consultations and meetings if our clients so choose. The health and safety of our clients, potential clients, and staff is a top priority. If you would like a video conference or a FaceTime call, let us know and we will set it up.

Grounds for Divorce

Assisting Families with Divorce Proceedings

The vast majority of Arkansas divorce cases are filed under the grounds of general indignities, which means one spouse is making it intolerable for the other spouse to stay married to them. Other grounds like adultery are possible, but we will advise you on the best route to have your case settled efficiently. The following reasons are recognized by the state of Arkansas as valid grounds for divorce:

  • No Fault (spouses have been separated for at least 18 months)
  • General Indignities
  • Impotency
  • Conviction of a Felony
  • Habitual Drunkenness for One Year
  • Guilty of Such Cruel and Barbarous Conduct as to Endanger the Life of the Other
  • Adultery After the Marriage
  • Incurable Insanity
  • Willful Non-Support of the Other Spouse

If you are seeking a divorce in Arkansas, contact the OMG Law Firm today